SYNTHOS RESEARCH

Motorola Solutions MSI

Technology · Communication Equipment · Synthos Deep Dive · 2026-08-04

$486.00
Hold

The Overview

When a police officer presses the button on a shoulder radio, the odds are Motorola built the radio, the network it talks to, and the software that logs the call. That is the business. It is not the phone company Motorola — that split in two in 2011 — it is the part that sells to governments.

It is a very good business for an unglamorous reason: interoperability. If a county buys Motorola radios, every neighbouring agency it needs to talk to has a strong reason to buy Motorola too, and switching means replacing everything at once. Our knowledge base contains eight separate observations about this company from one detailed podcast episode, and the central one is that Motorola has roughly 80% of that market and sells networks first, then radios forever afterwards, at high margins.

The filings back that up. Last year Motorola made $2,988 million of operating profit on $11,682 million of sales — a 25.6% margin. It has $9.5 billion of work already contracted but not yet delivered, about $4.1 billion of which arrives in the next year. That is close to a guaranteed revenue floor.

Two things have changed since that podcast, and neither is in the data file we were given.

In August last year Motorola paid $4.4 billion in cash for a company called Silvus, which makes radio networks that work without any fixed infrastructure — useful for military and emergency deployments. To put $4.4 billion in perspective: Motorola's own auditor states that Silvus was 2% of last year's revenue. That is a very full price, it was paid in cash, and it roughly doubled Motorola's debt.

The result is visible in the most recent quarter. Sales rose 7.4%. "Adjusted" earnings per share rose 6.0%. And actual, accounting earnings per share fell 13.8% — from $2.53 to $2.18 — because of the interest on the new debt and the accounting charges for writing down what was bought. The gap between the two numbers is now 55% of the real one, up from 26% a year ago.

Two more things you should know. The shares cost $442.85 and are up 1.4% over the past year while the market rose 24.3% — so this has quietly been getting cheaper relative to its earnings. And Motorola reports its next results tomorrow, on a technical reading (RSI 74) that says the stock has run hard into the print.

Analysts expect $18.54 of earnings in 2027, so you are paying about 24 times. Our estimate of fair value is $445 — about the price. The average analyst says $506, and notably the most pessimistic of the 34 analysts says $470, which is above today's price. Nobody covering this stock has a downside case, which we treat as a warning rather than a comfort.


Putting a number on it: our fair-value estimate is $445 against a current price of $486.00 — a premium price for a business we still like.

Our summary metrics

Downside Risk (lower = safer)6/10High

"Rated 6 — a franchise with almost no demand risk and a balance sheet that has become the risk. The supports: $9.5 billion of remaining performance obligations at 2026-04-04, of which $4.1 billion converts within twelve months, against annual revenue of $11.7 billion; customers who are governments and public-safety agencies; a beta of 0.885; and a contract-liability balance of $2,296M that is customer cash received in advance. Against that, the post-Silvus balance sheet is genuinely levered for this kind of company: financial debt of $8,965M against $886M of cash at 2026-04-04 gives net debt of $8,079M, roughly 2.1x our estimate of trailing adjusted EBITDA, on total stockholders' equity of about $2.5bn against $19,080M of total assets. Goodwill of $6,885M plus intangibles of $3,046M is 52.0% of total assets, and TANGIBLE book value per share is MINUS $44.44. Interest expense went from $69M in the March 2025 quarter to $111M in the March 2026 quarter, +61%. GAAP diluted EPS FELL 13.8% year on year in the first quarter of 2026 while adjusted EPS rose 6.0%, and the gap between them widened from 26% of GAAP EPS to 55%. The auditor's report states that Silvus was EXCLUDED from management's assessment and from the audit of internal control over financial reporting as of 2025-12-31 — a standard first-year exclusion, and one that means the largest acquisition in the company's recent history is not yet inside the control environment. And the entry is being taken at RSI 74.0, the day before an earnings report."

Growth Quality6/10High

"Rated 6 — durable mid-to-high single-digit growth with a faster-growing tail, and one comparison in the file that is flattered by the calendar. Revenue: $9,978M (FY2023), $10,817M (FY2024, +8.4%), $11,682M (FY2025, +8.0%). By major product line, filing-verified for FY2025: Mission Critical Networks $8,647M (74.0% of revenue, +6.8%), Video $2,120M (18.1%, +10.4%), Command Center $915M (7.8%, +14.8%). By segment: Products and Systems Integration $7,253M (62.1%), Software and Services $4,429M (37.9%, +12.6%). By geography: North America $8,362M (+6.9%), International $3,320M (+10.8%). That distribution is exactly what the knowledge base's neutral claim predicted — the radio base compounds at mid-single digits and the software and video adjacencies grow half again as fast. First-quarter 2026 revenue of $2,714M was up 7.4%, but note the fiscal calendar: the quarter ended 2026-04-04 and covered 94 days against the 88 days of the quarter ended 2025-03-29, so the comparison spans six additional calendar days. Consensus wants revenue of $12,805M in FY2026 (9 analysts), $13,630M in FY2027 (9) and $14,537M in FY2028 (7) — 9.6%, 6.4% and 6.7% — with adjusted EPS of $16.965, $18.535 and $20.507, growth of roughly 10% a year. What holds this at 6 rather than higher: the FY2026 revenue step includes a full year of Silvus against five months in FY2025, so organic growth is slower than the headline; and the backlog fell slightly, from $9.6bn at 2025-12-31 to $9.5bn at 2026-04-04."

Exponential Potential4/10Moderate

"Rated 4 — two genuine adjacencies growing at one-and-a-half times the core, bolted to a radio franchise that is 74% of revenue. Video, at $2,120M and growing 10.4%, and Command Center, at $915M and growing 14.8%, are the businesses the knowledge base identifies as 'fast-growing, high-margin adjacencies leveraging the same First-Responder customers and sales channel' — and the filings support both the growth and the channel logic. Software and Services as a reportable segment grew 12.6% to $4,429M and now contributes 37.9% of revenue against 37.4% two years ago, with the 10-K attributing a $215 million operating-earnings increase to 'higher sales, expanded margins, including favorable mix, improved operating leverage'. The $4.4 billion Silvus acquisition adds mobile ad-hoc network technology — infrastructure-free secure data, video and voice — which is a real capability rather than a bolt-on brand, and $920 million of the purchase price was allocated to developed technology. Against all of that: Mission Critical Networks is $8,647M, 74.0% of revenue, and grows 6.8%; the total company's revenue growth consensus for FY2027 and FY2028 is 6.4% and 6.7%; and the knowledge base's own neutral claim ties the core to 'municipal tax receipts'. There is no line in this file that compounds at 20%. A 4: high-quality, defensible, deliberately incremental."

Fair value$445 $350–$540
What does “fair value” mean?

Fair value is Synthos’s estimate of what one share is worth today, based on our model of the company’s future cash generation and the risks to it. It is not a price target or a prediction of where the stock trades next quarter — it’s the price where we think risk and reward are balanced. Above it, you’re paying for outcomes better than our base case; below it, the market is offering a margin of safety.

The model’s inputs and weightings are proprietary — they’re the product. What we publish is the output, plus an independent, public-math cross-check further down the page (“Check our number”) so you can judge it for yourself.

What do the 5 tiers mean? (Core · Tactical · Watch · Hold · Avoid)
Buy — CoreOwn it as a foundation — start or add now, size it for years, let dips be gifts.
Buy — TacticalGood price + confirmed trend + a defined exit — buy the setup, not a marriage.
WatchWe want the business, just not at this price/setup — act only when the listed trigger hits.
HoldFine to keep if you own it — no reason to buy more; new money does better elsewhere.
AvoidDon't own it — the problem is the business or the expectations, so a cheaper price won't fix it.

The Road Ahead

What we expect to matter in each window, and the evidence that would prove us wrong.

Short term 0-6 months

No differentiated view
Driver
"Results land TOMORROW, 2026-08-05, on consensus adjusted EPS $3.85 and revenue $3,002M. The set-up is stretched: RSI 74.0 — the most overbought in this batch — MACD +6.91, price 7.1% above the 50-DMA of $413.58 and 6.5% above the 200-DMA. Twelve-month return is +1.4% against SPY's +24.3%."
What we’re watching
"Tomorrow's print. Within it: whether GAAP diluted EPS is still falling year on year after MINUS 13.8% in Q1; the backlog, $9.5bn at 2026-04-04 against $9.6bn at year-end; Video and Command Center growth against 10.4% and 14.8%; and interest expense against $111M in Q1."
Confidence
Low

Medium term 6-24 months

Tailwind
Driver
"Consensus wants adjusted EPS of $16.965 in FY2026 and $18.535 in FY2027, roughly 10% growth a year, on revenue up 9.6% then 6.4%. The mechanism is legible: $9.5bn of backlog, Video +10.4% and Command Center +14.8% against a core at +6.8%, plus a full year of Silvus against five months."
What we’re watching
"Whether the GAAP-to-adjusted gap narrows from 55% of GAAP EPS as Silvus amortisation settles. Whether net debt falls from $8,079M and interest expense from $111M a quarter. Whether Silvus revenue is ever disclosed separately, and whether the $38M contingent earnout is earned."
Confidence
Medium

Long term 2+ years

Tailwind
Driver
"The knowledge base's central claim — roughly 80% land mobile radio share, a razor-and-blade model into government buyers, competitors retreating — describes the most durable position in this batch. The filings support the outcome: a 25.6% operating margin and $9.5bn of backlog."
What we’re watching
"Whether Video and Command Center reach a third of revenue, which is what would change the growth rate rather than the mix. Whether Axon's body-camera position — one KB claim puts it at ~90% share of the top-50 municipalities — spreads into adjacent Motorola categories. Whether public-safety budgets hold."
Confidence
Medium

Exponential Potential

Exponential Potential4/10Moderate

"Rated 4 — two genuine adjacencies growing at one-and-a-half times the core, bolted to a radio franchise that is 74% of revenue. Video, at $2,120M and growing 10.4%, and Command Center, at $915M and growing 14.8%, are the businesses the knowledge base identifies as 'fast-growing, high-margin adjacencies leveraging the same First-Responder customers and sales channel' — and the filings support both the growth and the channel logic. Software and Services as a reportable segment grew 12.6% to $4,429M and now contributes 37.9% of revenue against 37.4% two years ago, with the 10-K attributing a $215 million operating-earnings increase to 'higher sales, expanded margins, including favorable mix, improved operating leverage'. The $4.4 billion Silvus acquisition adds mobile ad-hoc network technology — infrastructure-free secure data, video and voice — which is a real capability rather than a bolt-on brand, and $920 million of the purchase price was allocated to developed technology. Against all of that: Mission Critical Networks is $8,647M, 74.0% of revenue, and grows 6.8%; the total company's revenue growth consensus for FY2027 and FY2028 is 6.4% and 6.7%; and the knowledge base's own neutral claim ties the core to 'municipal tax receipts'. There is no line in this file that compounds at 20%. A 4: high-quality, defensible, deliberately incremental."

“Management's disciplined capital allocation—aggressive buybacks at low multiples then opportunistic M&A into adjacencies—drove margins from mid-teens to high-20s and multiple re-rating.”
Business Breakdownsconviction 80
“Feared cellular/satellite disruption of LMR never materialized; competitors (Harris, Airbus) are retreating, so technology risk to the core is low.”
Business Breakdownsconviction 70

What could take this further than the base case — and where the market may be underpricing it. Full forward-growth and acceleration math in Deeper analysis, §4 below.

Deeper analysis

Technicals, fundamentals, valuation, and the full expert-claim evidence panel — the detail behind the numbers above.

Check our number Market-implied growth ≈ 25%/yr This isn’t how we calculate fair value — it’s public math you can verify yourself. To justify today’s $486, earnings would have to compound roughly 25% a year for 10 years (9% discount rate). Analysts forecast ~13%/yr, so the market is pricing in MORE than what the Street expects.

EARNINGS TOMORROW — 2026-08-05

Motorola Solutions reports second-quarter 2026 results on 2026-08-05, ONE DAY after this dive. Vendor consensus is adjusted EPS of $3.85 and revenue of $3,002M, implying +10.6% revenue growth on the June 2025 quarter's $2,765M and +7.8% adjusted EPS growth on $3.57. Motorola has beaten the consensus adjusted EPS estimate in every one of the five quarters present in the earnings calendar — by 5.6%, 6.6%, 5.5%, 5.5% and 4.0% — so the base rate favours a beat. The set-up going in does not: RSI is 74.0, the most overbought reading in this batch; MACD is +6.91; the price is 7.1% above the 50-day average and has risen 8.2% since mid-July. This dive's verdict is set with that timing as an explicit input, and the conclusion is that the correct action today is none.


Reference table

Street consensus$506 (+14.3%) · median $506 · high $530 · low $470 — 6.1% ABOVE spot · 24 buy / 6 hold / 4 sell across 34 analysts. No covering analyst has a target below the current price
Valuation26.1x FY2026E adjusted EPS $16.965 · 23.9x FY2027E $18.535 · 21.6x FY2028E $20.507 · 28.4x trailing adjusted EPS $15.59 · 35.1x trailing GAAP EPS $12.61
FY2025, filing-verifiedRevenue $11,682M (+8.0%) · operating earnings $2,988M, margin 25.6% (up from 24.8%) · net earnings $2,154M · diluted EPS $12.75 · net interest expense $302M (from $227M)
Revenue by product line, FY2025Mission Critical Networks $8,647M (74.0%, +6.8%) · Video $2,120M (18.1%, +10.4%) · Command Center $915M (7.8%, +14.8%)
Backlog$9.5 billion of remaining performance obligations at 2026-04-04 (from $9.6bn at 2025-12-31), of which $4.1 billion is expected within twelve months
The acquisition the payload cannot seeSilvus Technologies, closed 2025-08-06, $4.4 billion cash plus a $38M contingent earnout · $820M of customer relationships and $920M of developed technology recorded · excluded from management's and the auditor's assessment of internal control at 2025-12-31, representing 1% of assets and 2% of revenues
Balance sheet (2026-04-04)Cash $886M · financial debt $8,965M · net debt $8,079M · goodwill $6,885M + intangibles $3,046M = 52.0% of assets · tangible book value per share MINUS $44.44
ConvictionPositive but single-source — 12 raw KB hits, 9 after a case-sensitive test, 8 name-level claims on Motorola — the deepest lane in this batch — and all eight are from ONE channel on ONE day, 2024-10-20, before the Silvus acquisition existed
TechnicalsMINUS 9.7% from the 52-week high of $490.30, +21.7% above the low of $363.83; +7.1% above the 50-DMA ($413.58), +6.5% above the 200-DMA ($415.91); RSI 74.0; MACD +6.91; 12-month +1.4% vs SPY +24.3%

What the experts actually said 8 traceable claims on MSI · showing the highest-conviction voices

“Motorola dominates land mobile radio (~80% share) with a sticky razor/razor-blade model selling networks then perpetual high-margin radios to governments.”
Business Breakdownsbullishconviction 802024-10-20business_breakdowns-37RUolfsudc:22954dabd9
“Core LMR grows only mid-single-digit, tied to municipal tax receipts; faster growth depends on video/software mix shift, not the radio base.”
Business Breakdownsneutralconviction 652024-10-20business_breakdowns-37RUolfsudc:c2ebe17d46

Every claim reconciles to a real claim_id in the Synthos knowledge base — this is the evidence the verdict is built on, not vibes. Management (the company itself) is shown but half-weighted; one cautionary voice is included on purpose.

Price & moving averages 12 months · 50 & 200-day averages · 52-week range

354390427464500Aug '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Aug '2652w hi $490Price 48650-DMA 436200-DMA 42052w lo $364

Solid line = price · dashed line = 50-day average · dotted line = 200-day average · the two thin horizontal lines mark the 52-week high and low. Price above both averages is an uptrend.

Data summary: last close $486.00, 11% above the 50-day average ($436), 16% above the 200-day average ($420) — an uptrend. 1% below the 52-week high of $490, 34% above the 52-week low of $364.

Bollinger Bands 20-day average ± 2 standard deviations

338381425469513Aug '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Aug '26Price 48620-day avg 469

The shaded band widens when the stock gets more volatile. Riding the upper edge = strong momentum (sometimes stretched); the lower edge = weak / potentially oversold.

Data summary: price $486.00 is currently inside the band (band $439–$499).

RSI (14) momentum gauge · 0–100

705030Aug '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Aug '26RSI 67.5

Above 70 (overbought zone, shaded) = overbought, below 30 (oversold zone, shaded) = oversold. Currently 67.

MACD 12 / 26 / 9 · trend & momentum

0Aug '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Aug '26MACD 14.7signal 14.3

The MACD line crossing above the signal line (bars flip to the up color) = momentum turning up; crossing below (bars flip to the down color) = turning down. Bar height = the size of that gap.

Data summary: MACD is currently above its signal line by 0.40, positive momentum.

Relative performance vs S&P 500 & its sector (XLK (sector)), set to 100 a year ago

7292113134154Aug '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Aug '26XLK (sector) 139S&P 500 119MSI 103

Solid = MSI · dashed = S&P 500 · dotted = XLK (sector). A rising line means it is beating that benchmark — the sector line shows whether it is a leader or laggard within its own group.

Forward revenue & earnings actual → estimate · "FY" = fiscal year, "E" = estimate

0481217$8BFY21EPS $9$9BFY22EPS $10$10BFY23EPS $12$11BFY24EPS $14$12BFY25EPS $15$13BFY26EEPS $18$14BFY27EEPS $19$15BFY28EEPS $21

Darker bars = actual results, brighter = analyst estimates. Taller bars to the right = expected growth.

Key stats an RIA wants

Price$486.00
Market cap$81B
P/E trailing38×
P/E FY26E / FY27E27× / 25×
EV / Sales7.3×
EV / EBITDA23.6×
Gross margin50.0%
Net margin17.4%
Dividend yield0.97%
Beta0.87
52-wk range$364 – $490
RSI(14)67
50 / 200-DMA$436 / $420
12-mo return+5% (SPY +19%)
Street target$525 ($476–$550)
Analyst grades24 Buy · 6 Hold · 4 Sell
FMP ratingB+
Next earnings2026-08-05 (Q2 2026 earnings, ONE DAY away; vendor consensus adjusted EPS $3.85 and revenue $3,002M, implying +10.6% revenue growth on the June 2025 quarter's $2,765M and +7.8% adjusted EPS growth on $3.57). Motorola has beaten the consensus adjusted EPS estimate in all five quarters present in the earnings calendar, by 4.0% to 6.6%.

1. The business, by the numbers the filings actually publish

Motorola Solutions reports two segments and three product lines. The payload contains neither breakdown correctly, so both come from the 10-K.

FY2025 revenue by major product line ($M), filing-verified:

Product lineFY2025shareFY2024growthFY2023
Mission Critical Networks (MCN)$8,64774.0%$8,100+6.8%$7,526
Video$2,12018.1%$1,920+10.4%$1,726
Command Center$9157.8%$797+14.8%$726
Total$11,682100%$10,817+8.0%$9,978

FY2025 revenue by reportable segment ($M):

SegmentFY2025shareFY2024growth
Products and Systems Integration$7,25362.1%$6,883+5.4%
Software and Services$4,42937.9%$3,934+12.6%

FY2025 revenue by geography ($M):

FY2025FY2024growth
North America$8,362$7,820+6.9%
International$3,320$2,997+10.8%

And by customer type: Direct $8,655M (74.1%), Indirect $3,027M (25.9%).

Read the product-line table against the knowledge base and the lane's one NEUTRAL claim wins. That claim, dated 2024-10-20 at conviction 65, states: "Core LMR grows only mid-single-digit, tied to municipal tax receipts; faster growth depends on video/software mix shift, not the radio base." Mission Critical Networks grew 6.8%. Video grew 10.4%. Command Center grew 14.8%. The neutral claim called the shape of this business more accurately than any of the seven bullish ones, and it is the reason the growth score is 6 rather than 8.

The backlog is the single best disclosure in this file and it is absent from the payload. From the 10-K: "The transaction value associated with remaining performance obligations which were not yet satisfied as of December 31, 2025 was $9.6 billion, of which $4.0 billion is expected to be recognized in the next twelve months." The 10-Q updates it: $9.5 billion at 2026-04-04, of which $4.1 billion converts within twelve months. Against annual revenue of $11.7 billion, that is roughly ten months of revenue already contracted, and about 35% of the next twelve months' revenue already booked. The backlog fell $0.1bn in the quarter, which is worth watching but is not yet a trend.

Contract liabilities — customer cash received in advance — were $2,296M at 2026-04-04 against $2,265M at year-end, plus $751M of non-current contract liabilities at 2025-12-31. A business that is paid before it performs and holds $3bn of customer deposits has a working-capital profile most industrials would envy.

2. Silvus — $4.4 billion for 2% of revenue, and what it did to the earnings

This is the most consequential fact in the file and it appears in no vendor field except a single cash-flow line reading acquisitionsNet: −$4,899,000,000.

From the 10-K:

> "On August 6, 2025, the Company acquired Silvus Technologies Holdings Inc. ('Silvus') from Silvus Technologies Group LLC... Silvus designs and develops software-defined high-speed MANET technology that enables highly secure data, video and voice communications without the need for fixed infrastructure... The purchase price of $4.4 billion consisted of cash payments of $4.4 billion, net of cash acquired and customary purchase price adjustments, and contingent earnout consideration that had an estimated fair value as of the acquisition date of $38 million."

The purchase-price allocation, from the auditor's critical audit matter: "Of the acquired identifiable intangible assets, $820 million of customer relationships and $920 million of developed technology were recorded" — valued respectively by the excess-earnings and relief-from-royalty methods, both flagged as requiring "significant judgment by management."

And the sizing, from the auditor's internal-control report: "management has excluded Silvus Technologies Holdings Inc. ('Silvus') from its assessment of internal control over financial reporting as of December 31, 2025... Silvus is a wholly owned subsidiary whose total assets and total revenues excluded from management's assessment and our audit of internal control over financial reporting represent 1% and 2%, respectively, of the related consolidated financial statement amounts."

$4.4 billion in cash for a business representing 2% of FY2025 revenues — roughly $234 million over the five months from 6 August, or something in the order of $560 million annualised. That is approximately 7.9x annualised revenue, paid in cash, at the same time the knowledge base's highest-conviction capital-allocation claim praised "opportunistic M&A into adjacencies." We are not saying the price was wrong — MANET technology into defence and public safety may well earn it — we are saying the payload contains no trace of it and the knowledge base's claim predates it by ten months.

Motorola also acquired Theatro and RapidDeploy in 2025, and renamed its Land Mobile Radio Communications product line "Mission Critical Networks" to accommodate Silvus.

What it did to the balance sheet and the income statement, filing-verified:

2024-12-312025-12-312026-04-04
Goodwill$3,526M$6,800M$6,885M
Intangible assets, net$1,249M$3,104M$3,046M
Financial debt$5,997M$9,162M$8,965M
Cash$2,102M$1,165M$886M
Net financial debt$3,895M$7,997M$8,079M
Quarterly interest expense$74M (Q4)$122M (Q4)$111M (Q1)

Net financial debt has slightly more than doubled in fifteen months. Net interest expense for FY2025 was $302M against $227M in FY2024 — and the first quarter of 2026 alone carried $111M against $69M a year earlier, a 61% increase.

The earnings consequence, and it is the sharpest single comparison in this dive:

Q1 2026Q1 2025change
Revenue$2,714M$2,528M+7.4%
Operating income$595M$582M+2.2%
Interest expense$111M$69M+61%
Depreciation and amortisation$157M$81M+94%
Net income$366M$430MMINUS 14.9%
GAAP diluted EPS$2.18$2.53MINUS 13.8%
Adjusted diluted EPS$3.37$3.18+6.0%
GAAP-to-adjusted gap$1.19 (55% of GAAP)$0.65 (26%)

A company whose revenue grew 7.4% and whose adjusted earnings grew 6.0% reported GAAP earnings per share down 13.8%, and the gap between the two measures more than doubled as a percentage of the GAAP figure. Both numbers are true. The adjusted figure is the one consensus is struck on and the one this dive uses for valuation. The GAAP figure is the one that reflects the cost of the acquisition, and it is reported here alongside rather than beneath. Depreciation and amortisation nearly doubled to $157M in the quarter, which is the mechanical consequence of $1,740M of newly recorded Silvus intangibles amortising.

One further calendar note that qualifies the revenue comparison. Motorola runs a 52/53-week fiscal calendar with quarters ending on Saturdays. The quarter ended 2026-04-04 covered 94 days; the quarter ended 2025-03-29 covered 88 days. So the +7.4% revenue comparison spans six additional calendar days. Much of Motorola's revenue is recognised over time on percentage-of-completion or subscription bases rather than by calendar day, so the distortion is not a simple 6.8% — but the reported growth rate is flattered and no field in the payload says so.

3. Balance sheet and cash flow

Filing-verified at 2026-04-04 ($M):

2026-04-042025-12-31
Cash and cash equivalents$886$1,165
Accounts receivable, net$2,046$2,200
Contract assets$1,388$1,574
Total current assets$5,951$6,300
Property, plant and equipment, net$1,161$1,165
Operating lease assets$609$581
Goodwill$6,885$6,800
Intangible assets, net$3,046$3,104
Total assets$19,080$19,389
Short-term borrowings$550$749
Contract liabilities$2,296$2,265
Long-term debt$8,415$8,413
Financial debt total$8,965$9,162
Operating lease liabilities, non-current$494$471
Operating lease liabilities, current$130$133
Total operating lease liabilities$624$604
Shares outstanding166.2M165.7M

Goodwill plus intangibles of $9,931M is 52.0% of total assets, against roughly $2.5bn of stockholders' equity. Tangible book value per share is MINUS $44.44 — a fact that makes every book-based ratio in the payload uninterpretable and that is a direct consequence of a company that has bought growth and repurchased stock for a decade.

Cash flow, and the vendor's figures here are exactly right.

FY2025FY2024FY2023
Net cash provided by operating activities$2,837$2,391$2,044
Capital expenditures($265)($257)($253)
Free cash flow$2,572$2,134$1,791
FCF yield on $73.51B market cap3.50%
Dividends paid($728)($654)($589)
Share repurchases($1,154)($247)($804)
Acquisitions, net($4,899)($290)($180)

All nine of those figures match the 10-K to the dollar, including the $4,899M acquisitions line. Capital expenditure of $265M on $11,682M of revenue is 2.3% — genuinely asset-light for a hardware company, because Motorola outsources manufacturing — and capexToDepreciationTTM of 0.595 is plausible rather than corrupt. This is a verified-clean capex and we record it.

Capital return is modest relative to the multiple. Dividends of $728M are a 1.07% yield on dividendPerShareTTM of $4.72; repurchases of $1,154M are 1.57% of market capitalisation. Total shareholder yield approximately 2.6% — and note that in FY2025 the company spent $4,899M on acquisitions against $1,882M returned to shareholders, which is a different capital-allocation posture from the one the knowledge base praises.

4. Valuation — priced in or room?

At $442.85 (market cap $73.51B, 166.2M shares per the 10-Q):

TrailingFY2026EFY2027EFY2028E
Adjusted EPS$15.59 (TTM)$16.965 (8)$18.535 (9)$20.507 (3)
EPS growth+10.2%+9.3%+10.6%
P/E on adjusted28.4x26.1x23.9x21.6x
GAAP diluted EPS$12.61 (TTM)
P/E on GAAP35.1x
Consensus revenue$11.87bn (TTM)$12.81bn (9)$13.63bn (9)$14.54bn (7)
Revenue growth+9.6%+6.4%+6.7%

Estimate coverage is thin and thins fast. 8 analysts on FY2026 EPS, 9 on FY2027 and 3 on FY2028, which is excluded from every conclusion except as a cross-check. The FY2027 range is $17.933 to $19.378, a 8.1% spread.

est.ebitdaAvg and est.ebitAvg are fabricated and rejected — the twelfth consecutive file. In all eight years present, ebitdaAvg is exactly 33.213% of revenueAvg and ebitAvg exactly 31.454%. All forward valuation uses epsAvg, which verifies: the FY2025 epsAvg of $15.157 sits 1.6% below the $15.40 of adjusted EPS the four quarterly releases produced.

Enterprise value — the vendor is current and correct on net debt, and the composition is a lease artefact. enterpriseValueTTM of $82,214M less market capitalisation is exactly $8,703M, which reconciles precisely to the 2026-04-04 balance sheet: short-term borrowings $550M plus long-term debt $8,415M plus total operating lease liabilities of $624M less cash $886M. So the vendor uses the most recent quarter — commendable — and adds the whole operating lease liability to debt. It omits the $17M of noncontrolling interests, which is immaterial. On a financial-debt basis enterprise value is $81,607M; including operating leases, $82,231M. Both are stated.

On our estimate of trailing adjusted EBITDA of roughly $3.8bn (FY2025 operating earnings of $2,988M plus $451M of depreciation and amortisation plus $293M of share-based compensation, adjusted for the part-year of Silvus), EV/EBITDA is approximately 21.5x on the financial-debt EV, and net debt / adjusted EBITDA is approximately 2.1x. That leverage is modest in absolute terms and high relative to Motorola's own history, and it is the price of Silvus.

4a. What today's price assumes (the inversion)

At $442.85 — 26.1x FY2026 consensus adjusted EPS and 23.9x FY2027 — the price embeds:

4b. The return bridge (why the multiple moves)

Expected return over the next twelve months decomposes as: adjusted EPS growth (+9.3%, from FY2026E $16.965 to FY2027E $18.535) + multiple drift (HELD, at roughly 24x on the then-forward year) + shareholder yield (+2.6%)+12%.

Our base assumes the multiple holds rather than expands, and the reason is the twelve-month record. MSI returned +1.4% while the index returned +24.3% and its own adjusted earnings grew about 10% — so the market has been quietly de-rating this name all year, and our base does not assume that stops or reverses. What it does assume is that the de-rating does not continue, which is itself a judgement rather than an observation.

Two things could break the multiple assumption in either direction. Downward: GAAP earnings staying below adjusted by 50%+ eventually attracts scrutiny, and a company whose net debt doubled to fund a 2%-of-revenue acquisition has less capacity to buy back stock — repurchases were $1,154M in FY2025 against $4,899M of acquisitions. Upward: $9.5bn of backlog on a 25.6% operating margin, with government customers and no visible competitor, is the kind of earnings stream that re-rates in a risk-off market — and a beta of 0.885 with 74% of revenue from public-safety agencies is close to a defensive asset in technology clothing.

Note the composition: roughly three quarters of the expected return is earnings growth and one quarter is capital returned, with none from the multiple. That is a robust shape. It is also a 12% expected return on a stock priced at 24x forward earnings, which is a fair rather than a compelling proposition.

4c. Variant perception (where we differ, what would surprise)

Synthos fair values

All three anchors are multiples of the FY2027 consensus adjusted EPS distribution (mean $18.535, low $17.933, high $19.378, 9 analysts), cross-checked on EV/EBITDA and free cash flow.

Base is 0.5% above spot; asymmetry roughly 1.04:1 (21.0% down, 21.9% up), before a shareholder yield of approximately 2.6%. A base case at the price, a payoff ratio of one, and an earnings report tomorrow at RSI 74 is a Hold with a specific instruction attached: do nothing today.

5. Knowledge base — the deepest lane in this batch, from one source on one day

Raw hits: 12. After a case-sensitive entity test: 9. Name-level claims on Motorola Solutions: 8. Discarded as a competitor lane: 3.

The sweep ran entity terms MSI, Motorola and Motorola Solutions plus free text on motorola, land mobile radio, public safety and p25 across all 52,021 distilled claims.

The concentration test is meaningful here, unlike in most files, and it fails. All eight name-level claims carry the channel business_breakdowns and the date 2024-10-20. All carry speaker: null and a skill weight of 1.0. That is a single podcast episode about Motorola Solutions, distilled into eight separate claims — not eight independent voices converging. A breadth reading of 8 would be wrong; the honest reading is breadth 2 (one channel across two dates) and claim count 8, and that is how it is recorded.

The eight claims, verbatim, in descending conviction:

> BULLISH · 80"Motorola dominates land mobile radio (~80% share) with a sticky razor/razor-blade model selling networks then perpetual high-margin radios to governments."

> BULLISH · 80"Management's disciplined capital allocation—aggressive buybacks at low multiples then opportunistic M&A into adjacencies—drove margins from mid-teens to high-20s and multiple re-rating."

> BULLISH · 75 · horizon principle"LMR's reliability, redundancy, dedicated spectrum, and ruggedized hardware make it structurally superior to cellular for emergency responders."

> BULLISH · 75"Motorola has strong untapped pricing power as customers avoid mixing radios for interoperability reasons; pricing at or above inflation."

> BULLISH · 75 · horizon principle"A dominant, focused sales force selling adjacent products into one loyal safety/security customer base is a durable competitive moat."

> BULLISH · 70"Video surveillance and command-center software are fast-growing, high-margin adjacencies leveraging the same First-Responder customers and sales channel."

> BULLISH · 70"Feared cellular/satellite disruption of LMR never materialized; competitors (Harris, Airbus) are retreating, so technology risk to the core is low."

> NEUTRAL · 65"Core LMR grows only mid-single-digit, tied to municipal tax receipts; faster growth depends on video/software mix shift, not the radio base."

What the filings confirm. The margin claim: FY2025 operating margin was 25.6%, up from 24.8% and 23.0% — "high-20s" is within reach and the direction is right. The adjacencies claim: Video grew 10.4% to $2,120M and Command Center grew 14.8% to $915M, against a core at 6.8% — confirmed. The growth-ceiling claim, which is the neutral one: Mission Critical Networks is 74.0% of revenue and grew 6.8% — confirmed to the decimal. The razor-and-blade and backlog logic: $9.5bn of remaining performance obligations at 2026-04-04, $4.1bn converting within twelve months — strongly supportive.

What the filings do not confirm, and what has changed since. The ~80% land mobile radio share figure is not disclosed anywhere in Motorola's filings and cannot be verified from this archive; we report it as the claim's assertion, not as a fact. The pricing-power claim cannot be tested because Motorola does not disclose a price/volume decomposition. And the capital-allocation claim"aggressive buybacks at low multiples then opportunistic M&A into adjacencies" — was written ten months before Motorola paid $4.4 billion in cash for a business the auditor sizes at 2% of revenues, in a year when it spent $4,899M on acquisitions against $1,154M on buybacks. We flag that as the claim in the lane most likely to have been overtaken by events, and it is one of the two highest-conviction claims in it.

A ninth claim, from the same channel four days later, is NEGATIVE on Motorola in one category:

> 2024-10-24 · bullish on Axon, conviction 70 · entities: Axon, Motorola"Body cam market is fragmented but Axon dwarfs Motorola—~90% share in top-50 municipalities—because the taser-camera-software flywheel compounds data."

That is the only competitive read on Motorola in the store and it is unfavourable in an adjacency to the $2,120M Video business.

The discard. Three text-only hits are all from business_breakdowns on 2024-10-24 and are entirely about Axon — the taser monopoly, the shift to 95% subscription revenue, and generative-AI report drafting. They are a competitor lane, they name Motorola nowhere except in the claim quoted above, and they are discarded from the conviction score. They are worth recording because they describe a well-capitalised competitor compounding in public-safety software, which is the category Motorola needs to grow into.

Attribution note. All nine claims carry speaker: null and are attributed only to a channel — the weakest sourcing the four-lane policy admits. No claim carries a management speaker_role. The concentration is the dominant caveat: one channel, two dates in October 2024, twenty-two months before this dive and ten months before the largest acquisition in the file.

Conclusion. Breadth 2, claim count 8, net conviction positive-concentrated. The knowledge base is substantively positive on Motorola Solutions and unusually specific about why. It is also a single source, nearly two years stale, and blind to a $4.4 billion transaction that has doubled the company's net debt and pushed GAAP earnings below adjusted by 55%.

6. Data integrity — what we rejected and why

Seven findings, three verified-clean checks, and one of the subtlest seg_geo defects in this programme.

1. The $4.4 billion Silvus acquisition is absent from every vendor field but one. Closed 2025-08-06 for $4.4bn cash plus a $38M contingent earnout, with $820M of customer relationships and $920M of developed technology recorded, and excluded from management's and the auditor's assessment of internal control at 2025-12-31. The only trace in the payload is cf_a.acquisitionsNet of MINUS $4,899,000,000 for FY2025 — a single unexplained number that also includes the Theatro and RapidDeploy acquisitions. bal_a ends 2025-12-31, so the goodwill step from $3,526M to $6,800M and the intangibles step from $1,249M to $3,104M are visible but unexplained. The retrieved 8-Ks — 2026-03-12 (a board appointment), 2026-05-07 (Q1 earnings) and 2026-05-20 (annual meeting results) — do not include the transaction, because the purchase agreement was filed with an 8-K dated 2025-05-27 that predates the three we retrieve. This is the documented "terms sat in an 8-K older than the three we retrieve" failure mode, and the 10-K settles it.

2. seg_geo uses the label "International" to mean two different things in adjacent years — REJECTED for FY2025. The FY2025 entry reads North America $8,362M, International $2,717M, and UNITED KINGDOM $603M. The 10-K reports North America $8,362M and International $3,320M. $2,717M plus $603M is $3,320M exactly, so the payload has split International into ex-UK and UK and the total reconciles. But every other year in the same block reports "International" at the full undivided figure — FY2024's $2,997M matches the filing's $2,997M exactly. So the same field label carries a value 18.2% smaller in FY2025 than the definition used in FY2024, and anyone computing an international growth rate from this block gets MINUS 9.3% where the filing shows +10.8%. That is a 20-point error in a growth rate, produced by an inconsistent label rather than a wrong number, and it is the ninth consecutive batch in which seg_geo has failed.

3. seg_prod reports revenue by TYPE, not by segment or product line — not a defect, but not what it says. The block gives "Product" $6,770M and "Service" $4,912M for FY2025, which sum to $11,682M exactly. These are the goods-versus-services revenue split, not Motorola's two reportable segments (Products and Systems Integration $7,253M; Software and Services $4,429M) and not its three product lines (Mission Critical Networks $8,647M; Video $2,120M; Command Center $915M). The numbers are internally consistent and the label invites a reader to mistake them for the segment table. All segment and product-line figures in this dive come from the 10-K.

4. inc_a.operatingIncome is $53M BELOW the filed figure — an unusual direction. The vendor reports FY2025 operating income of $2,935M; the 10-K reports operating earnings of $2,988M at a 25.6% margin. A $53M, 1.8% understatement — small, and notable mainly because in every other name in this batch where the two disagree, the vendor is HIGH. epsDiluted of $12.76 against the filing's $12.75 is a rounding difference.

5. inc_a.interestExpense is GROSS interest, while the filing reports NET. The vendor reports FY2025 interest expense of $365M; the 10-K reports "Interest expense, net" of $302M. The vendor's figure is therefore gross of interest income, and interestCoverageRatioTTM of 7.24x is computed against it. On filed operating earnings of $2,988M over net interest of $302M, coverage is 9.9x. Both conventions are defensible and they produce a 36% difference; the dive states which is which.

6. totalDebt is inflated by the entire operating lease liability, and the residual matches to the dollar — REJECTED. The vendor reports FY2025 shortTermDebt $749M, longTermDebt $8,413M and capitalLeaseObligations $604M, totalling $9,766M. The filed balance sheet at 2025-12-31 shows short-term borrowings $749M and long-term debt $8,413Mfinancial debt of $9,162M — and separately operating lease liabilities of $471M non-current plus $133M current, $604M in total. $9,766M less $9,162M is $604M, exactly the operating lease liability, relabelled as a capital lease obligation. netDebt of $8,601M should be $7,997M on a financial-debt basis. This is the fourth name in this batch on which the lease-inflation check has fired.

7. est.ebitdaAvg and est.ebitAvg carry the fixed-ratio fabrication signature — REJECTED. Exactly 33.213% and 31.454% of revenueAvg in all eight years present. All forward valuation uses epsAvg.

VERIFIED CLEAN — recorded because a clean check is a finding.

capitalExpenditure and netCashProvidedByOperatingActivities are exactly correct in all three years. Capital expenditure $265M / $257M / $253M and operating cash flow $2,837M / $2,391M / $2,044M each match the 10-K to the dollar, making freeCashFlow of $2,572M and the 3.50% yield sound. capexToDepreciationTTM of 0.595 is plausible: Motorola outsources manufacturing, and 2.3% of revenue is a genuine capital-light profile, not a corrupted datum.

enterpriseValueTTM uses the MOST RECENT quarter, which is unusual and correct. The $8,703M residual reconciles exactly to the 2026-04-04 balance sheet rather than the 2025-12-31 annual one — the only name in this batch where the vendor's enterprise value is struck on a quarter more recent than bal_a. The lease inclusion is a convention question; the currency of the data is a genuine positive and it is recorded as such.

Noncontrolling interests are present and immaterial: minorityInterest of $17M against the filing's noncontrolling interests, with earnings attributable to them of $2M in the March 2026 quarter. The vendor's enterprise value omits them, which changes nothing at this scale, and the omission is noted rather than corrected.

Non-equity tripwire — checked and passed. MSI is common stock, $0.01 par value, NYSE-listed, per the 10-Q balance sheet (600.0 million shares authorised, 168.1 million issued, 166.2 million outstanding at 2026-04-04). Price of $442.85 is not par-like; beta is 0.885; volume was 0.95M shares (~$419M of turnover); the 52-week band of $363.83 to $490.30 is a 35% range. This is common equity. Preferred stock: 0.5 million shares authorised at $100 par, none issued or outstanding.

Vendor composite rating — noted, not used. The rating block gives B+ / 3 overall with 1 of 5 on both debt-to-equity and price-to-book. Both sub-scores are computed on a balance sheet with $9,931M of goodwill and intangibles against roughly $2.5bn of equity, which is a description of a serial acquirer rather than a solvency assessment, and neither carries weight.

7. Technicals

Today's move and what it does to the entry

MSI closed 2026-08-04 at $442.85, up 1.29% or $5.66 from $437.19. It opened at $437.98, traded $433.91 to $445.64, and closed near the high on 0.95M shares. No company-specific filing is dated 2026-08-04; the next event is tomorrow.

This is the single worst entry setup in this batch and the reason is arithmetic rather than aesthetic. RSI at 74.0, price 7.1% above the 50-day average, MACD at +6.91, into an earnings report one day away, on a company that has beaten consensus in all five recorded quarters — which means the beat is largely in the price and the asymmetry around the event is unfavourable. A Hold verdict here is not indecision; it is the correct response to a fairly valued asset at a stretched entry twenty-four hours before new information arrives.

8. Insiders — eight transactions, all of them grants or a gift

DatePersonRoleTypeSharesPriceHeld after
2026-07-03Mark E. LashierDirectorA-Award66$422.661,051.75
2026-05-18Joseph M. TucciDirectorA-Award598$013,761.98
2026-05-18Elizabeth MannDirectorA-Award598$01,566.44
2026-05-18Peter LeavDirectorA-Award598$0643.12
2026-05-18Mark E. LashierDirectorA-Award598$0985.75
2026-05-18Ayanna HowardDirectorA-Award598$03,883.32
2026-05-18Kenneth D. DenmanDirectorA-Award598$07,770.35
2026-05-18James A. NiewiaraSVP, General CounselG-Gift166$020,350.75

The reading, and it is close to null by construction. Seven of the eight rows are A-Award director grants, six of them identical 598-share deferred-stock-unit awards made on the annual-meeting date of 2026-05-18 — the standard non-employee director retainer, described in the 8-K of 2026-03-12 as "deferred stock units... with a value of $20,416.67 per month, divided by the closing price." The eighth is a G-Gift of 166 shares by the general counsel, which is a charitable or family transfer and carries no market signal.

What the file contains: not one open-market purchase and not one open-market sale. What it does not contain: any transaction by Gregory Q. Brown, the chairman and chief executive, or by the chief financial officer, in the entire eight-row window from 2026-05-18 to 2026-07-03.

One observation with content. Peter Leav joined the board on 2026-03-12 — the 8-K discloses that the board was expanded from eight to nine members to accommodate him, and that he is a Senior Advisor at TPG. His holding after the 2026-05-18 grant is 643.12 shares, the smallest on the board, which is simply what a four-month tenure produces. The board received 3,588 shares in aggregate on 2026-05-18 at a price that, at today's $442.85, is worth about $1.6 million — against a $73.5 billion market capitalisation. Nothing in this file tells us what management thinks the stock is worth.

9. Verdict, kill-criteria and flip conditions

Hold.

And the operative instruction attached to it is: do nothing today, because the company reports tomorrow.

The arithmetic lands on the price. At $442.85 Motorola trades at 26.1x FY2026 consensus adjusted EPS of $16.965 and 23.9x FY2027's $18.535. Our base fair value of $445 is 0.5% above spot with 1.04:1 asymmetry and a 2.6% total shareholder yield. Our number is 12.1% below the street's $506, and the gap is entirely multiple choice — we use the same consensus rows.

What is genuinely exceptional here, and we are not going to bury it. $9.5 billion of contracted backlog at 2026-04-04, $4.1 billion converting within twelve months, against $11.7 billion of annual revenue. A 25.6% operating margin, up from 24.8% and 23.0%. Customers who are governments. Video growing 10.4% and Command Center growing 14.8% against a core at 6.8%, exactly as the knowledge base's most useful claim predicted. A verified-clean capital expenditure of $265M — 2.3% of revenue — and $2,572M of free cash flow. And the deepest single-name knowledge-base lane in this batch, describing roughly 80% share of land mobile radio, retreating competitors and a razor-and-blade model into loyal government buyers.

What holds it at Hold, in four specifics. First, the price. 24x forward earnings for a business consensus expects to grow revenue 6.4% and adjusted EPS 9.3% is a full multiple, and the twelve-month return of +1.4% against the index's +24.3% says the market has been reaching the same conclusion all year. Second, the acquisition. $4.4 billion in cash for Silvus, a business the auditor sizes at 2% of FY2025 revenues — roughly 7.9x annualised revenue — which took net debt from $4,449M to $8,079M, quarterly interest expense from $69M to $111M, and intangibles from $1,249M to $3,046M. Third, the earnings gap. GAAP diluted EPS fell 13.8% in the March quarter while adjusted EPS rose 6.0%, and the gap widened from 26% to 55% of the GAAP figure. Fourth, the knowledge base is stale and single-source — eight claims from one channel on one day in October 2024, ten months before the transaction that changed the balance sheet.

Why not Watch. Because the base case is the price rather than below it, and because the event that arrives tomorrow is a routine quarterly result rather than a structural resolution. We expect a beat — five for five in the file — and we expect it to change the fair value by less than the multiple assumption does.

Why not Buy — Tactical. Because 0.5% of upside on 1.04:1 asymmetry at RSI 74.0 the day before a print, with no analyst target below the price and a knowledge-base lane that predates the company's largest acquisition, is not a position.

Pre-registered UPGRADE conditions — what would take this to Buy — Tactical:

Pre-registered KILL criteria — what would take this to Watch or Avoid:

Where MSI fits in the Synthos Framework Portfolio. The technology sleeve, no position today, with a 2% starter contingent on a price below $390 or a backlog recovery above $10 billion. Sizing note, and it is the operative discipline: this is a fairly-priced high-quality asset at a stretched technical entry the day before earnings, and the correct response is patience rather than a view. Logged as a tracked Synthos call (Hold) as of 2026-08-04 at $442.85, with the fair-value anchors, the kill criteria and the upgrade conditions all gradeable. Tomorrow's print against consensus adjusted EPS of $3.85 is itself a gradeable prediction and we expect to be marked on the Hold.

Single biggest risk: the $4.4 billion Silvus acquisition. Paid in cash on 2025-08-06 for a business the auditor sizes at 1% of total assets and 2% of total revenues at 2025-12-31, it approximately doubled net financial debt to $8,079M, raised quarterly interest expense 61% to $111M, added $1,740M of amortising intangibles, and is the reason GAAP diluted earnings per share fell 13.8% in the March quarter while adjusted earnings per share rose 6.0%. It was excluded from management's and the auditor's assessment of internal control over financial reporting at year-end, so FY2026 will be the first year it sits inside the control environment. The offsetting consideration is real: mobile ad-hoc network technology sold into public safety and defence is a genuine capability rather than a bolt-on, $920 million of the price was allocated to developed technology, and Motorola has a long record of integrating acquisitions into its single sales channel — which is the fifth of the eight knowledge-base claims and the one with the best evidence behind it. But $4.4 billion is 6.0% of the market capitalisation spent on 2% of the revenue, and until Motorola discloses what Silvus earns, nobody outside the company can say whether it was worth it.


Provenance & disclosures