SYNTHOS RESEARCH

Datadog DDOG

Technology · Software - Application · Synthos Deep Dive · 2026-08-04

$236.98
Avoid

The Overview

Datadog makes the dashboards that tell companies whether their software is working. If a website slows down, a database fills up, or an application starts throwing errors, Datadog is what the engineers are staring at.

It is a very good business. Revenue grew 32% in the most recent quarter — faster than the 28% it grew last year, which is unusual and encouraging. Of every dollar of revenue, 80 cents is gross profit. It generated $1 billion of spare cash last year while spending only $50 million on equipment, and it has about $2.9 billion more cash than debt.

So why "Avoid"?

Because of what you have to pay, and when.

The shares closed at $288.15 — which is, to the cent, the highest price they have traded at in the past year. They are up 96% in three months. At that price you are paying about 101 times what analysts think the company will earn in 2027, and about 749 times what it actually earned last year under standard accounting rules.

The gap between those two numbers is worth understanding. Datadog pays its staff heavily in shares — $751 million last year, or 21% of all revenue. The "adjusted" profit figure everyone quotes pretends that cost does not exist. Under normal accounting, Datadog's core operations lost $44 million last year.

There is one more thing. Forty analysts cover the company and forty of them are positive — and their average price target is $265, which is 8% below where the stock now trades. The stock has run past the people who like it.

And the company reports its next quarterly results in two days. Buying a stock at its all-time high, at 119 times earnings, forty-eight hours before it tells you how the quarter went, is not investing.

Our estimate of fair value is $250 — about 13% below the current price.

None of this says the business is bad. It says the price is wrong today. The section at the end names what would change our mind and at what level.


Putting a number on it: our fair-value estimate is $250 against a current price of $236.98 — real upside if our numbers are right.

Our summary metrics

Downside Risk (lower = safer)8/10Very High

"Rated 8 — the highest downside risk in this batch, and essentially none of it is operational. The business supports are strong: revenue accelerating to 32.1% year on year in the March quarter, a 79.9% gross margin, free cash flow of $1,000.6 million in FY2025 on capital expenditure of only $49.6 million, and a genuinely NET CASH balance sheet of $2,939.6 million once the $4,073.5 million of short-term investments the vendor omits are counted. Beta is 1.543. The risks are price, accounting composition and timing. FIRST, the multiple: 119.0 times FY2026 consensus adjusted EPS, 101.1 times FY2027, 748.8 times trailing GAAP earnings, 25.5 times book, 27.9 times trailing sales. SECOND, what 'adjusted' means here: stock-based compensation was $750.7 million in FY2025, 21.9% of revenue, and it is 75% of the $1,000.6 million of reported free cash flow — the GAAP operating result was a LOSS of $44,373 thousand on $3,427 million of revenue, and GAAP operating margin is MINUS 0.67% on a trailing basis. THIRD, the direction of margin: consensus adjusted EPS grows 17.5% in FY2026 against revenue growth of 27.0%, so the earnings the multiple is struck on are growing slower than the top line. FOURTH, timing: the stock closed AT its 52-week high, up 96.4% in three months, and reports second-quarter results in TWO DAYS. FIFTH, governance: shareholders approved redomiciliation from Delaware to Nevada on 2026-04-21 by 332.2 million votes to 199.6 million — 37.5% against — on a poll where Class B shares carry ten votes each; a simple-majority-voting proposal was defeated at the June annual meeting; and one director received 83.4 million withheld votes, 16.2% of those cast. SIXTH, the data: the payload is a full quarter stale (the most recent `inc_q` row is 2026-03-31) and the forward estimate block shows revenue DECLINING between FY2029 and FY2030."

Growth Quality9/10Very High

"Rated 9 — accelerating, high-quality, cash-generative growth, and the acceleration is the most important fact about the company. Revenue: $603.5M (FY2020), $1,028.8M, $1,675.1M, $2,128.4M, $2,684.3M, $3,427.2M (FY2025) — a 41.6% five-year compound rate that has decelerated to 27.7% and then RE-ACCELERATED: the March 2026 quarter grew 32.1% to $1,006.4M against $761.6M. Gross margin is 79.9%. Free cash flow was $1,000.6M in FY2025, a 29.2% margin, on capital expenditure of $49.6M — 1.4% of revenue, which is what a genuinely asset-light software business looks like. Research and development is $1,548.5M, 45.2% of revenue, which is either the reason for the acceleration or a permanent tax on it depending on your view. Consensus wants revenue of $4,352.3M in FY2026 (33 analysts, +27.0%), $5,280.8M in FY2027 (34, +21.3%) and $6,543.6M in FY2028 (19, +23.9%). The earnings record has beaten every quarter: adjusted EPS of $0.46, $0.46, $0.55, $0.59 and $0.60 against estimates of $0.431, $0.410, $0.458, $0.555 and $0.508 — beats of 6.7%, 12.1%, 20.2%, 6.3% and 18.1%. What holds this at 9 rather than 10: adjusted EPS growth of 17.5% in FY2026 is BELOW revenue growth of 27.0%, so operating leverage is currently negative on the adjusted line as well as the GAAP one, and the archive gives no net-retention or customer-count disclosure to corroborate the acceleration."

Exponential Potential7/10High

"Rated 7 — one of the two highest exponential scores in this batch, on a genuinely non-linear product argument corroborated from outside the company. The structural case is that observability is the control plane for software, and the knowledge base states it three ways without prompting: 'Datadog was first to unify the three pillars of observability (infrastructure, APM, logs) into one data model and UI, and keeps out-developing point players'; 'The more enterprise the application, the thicker the defensible software layer — observability, monitoring, insight extraction, testing/simulation QA — beyond just the model'; and 'The agentic world grows underlying infra — databases, storage, e-discovery, identity, observability remain the rails whether work is done by humans or agents.' That last claim is the exponential argument in one sentence: if autonomous software agents multiply the number of things running in production by an order of magnitude, the thing that watches them scales with the count, and Datadog charges per host, per container and per log. The land-and-expand model compounds it — every product added to an existing customer arrives at near-zero acquisition cost, which is why 45.2% of revenue goes to research and development. Why 7 and not higher: consumption pricing cuts both ways, the largest customers are hyperscaler-adjacent and can build in-house, the March-quarter acceleration is one data point, and the company's own adjusted margins are compressing while it spends to defend the position."

Fair value$250 $150–$360
What does “fair value” mean?

Fair value is Synthos’s estimate of what one share is worth today, based on our model of the company’s future cash generation and the risks to it. It is not a price target or a prediction of where the stock trades next quarter — it’s the price where we think risk and reward are balanced. Above it, you’re paying for outcomes better than our base case; below it, the market is offering a margin of safety.

The model’s inputs and weightings are proprietary — they’re the product. What we publish is the output, We don’t publish a reverse-DCF cross-check for pre-profit companies — negative or missing earnings break that math — so take this number on our modeling alone.

What do the 5 tiers mean? (Core · Tactical · Watch · Hold · Avoid)
Buy — CoreOwn it as a foundation — start or add now, size it for years, let dips be gifts.
Buy — TacticalGood price + confirmed trend + a defined exit — buy the setup, not a marriage.
WatchWe want the business, just not at this price/setup — act only when the listed trigger hits.
HoldFine to keep if you own it — no reason to buy more; new money does better elsewhere.
AvoidDon't own it — the problem is the business or the expectations, so a cheaper price won't fix it.

The Road Ahead

What we expect to matter in each window, and the evidence that would prove us wrong.

Short term 0-6 months

No differentiated view
Driver
"The most extended technical position in this batch, into an earnings report in forty-eight hours. Datadog closed 2026-08-04 at $288.15, up 5.32%, and the `tech` block reports the distance from the 52-week high as EXACTLY 0.00% — it closed at the high. The stock is 180.8% above its 52-week low of $102.62, 16.4% above a 50-day moving average of $247.50 and 71.0% above a 200-day average of $168.46. RSI is 65.6 and MACD is +8.20. Returns: three months +96.4%, six months +123.3%, twelve months +112.5%, against SPY's +7.6%, +11.1% and +24.3%. The stock has roughly doubled in a quarter. Into that, second-quarter results arrive on 2026-08-06 against a consensus of $0.583 adjusted EPS and $1,078.7 million of revenue. And the street — 40 buy, 7 hold, 1 sell — carries a consensus target of $265 that is 8.0% BELOW the market price, with a median of $280 also below it: the price has run past the analysts who like it. A director sold 19,900 shares between $264.35 and $269.00 on 30 July, five days before this dive and 7-8% below today's close. There is no configuration in this batch with more downside skew over the next week."
What we’re watching
"The 2026-08-06 print — in TWO DAYS — against consensus adjusted EPS of $0.583 and revenue of $1,078.7 million, which implies 30.5% year-on-year revenue growth against the March quarter's 32.1%. At 119 times FY2026 consensus earnings the reaction function is asymmetric: an in-line result is unlikely to be rewarded and a miss on either line, or soft guidance, is unlikely to be forgiven. Within the print: revenue growth against 32.1%, which is the single number that has driven the re-rating; gross margin against 79.9%; stock-based compensation against $750.7 million annualised, 21.9% of revenue; GAAP operating income, which was NEGATIVE $44.4 million for FY2025 and only $7.3 million in the March quarter; and any net-retention or customer-count disclosure, which the archive does not currently contain."
Confidence
Low

Medium term 6-24 months

Neutral
Driver
"Over two years the business almost certainly gets bigger and the question is entirely what it is worth. Consensus has revenue at $4,352.3 million in FY2026, $5,280.8 million in FY2027 and $6,543.6 million in FY2028 — 27.0%, 21.3% then 23.9% — with adjusted EPS at $2.421, $2.851 and $3.504. On a corrected enterprise value of roughly $99.6 billion that is 22.9 times FY2026 revenue and 18.9 times FY2027, and 119.0 and 101.1 times the adjusted earnings. Those two lenses disagree: 19 times forward sales for a 21-27% grower with an 80% gross margin and a 29% free-cash-flow margin is expensive but defensible; 101 times adjusted earnings on a company with a GAAP operating LOSS is not, and the gap between the two is stock-based compensation of 21.9% of revenue. The path that makes the current price work is margin expansion, and consensus does not have it: adjusted EPS grows 17.5% in FY2026 against 27.0% revenue growth. What would change the picture: a sustained acceleration above 32% revenue growth, which would let the multiple be paid for with growth rather than with hope; or a genuine widening of adjusted operating margin, which the archive does not currently show."
What we’re watching
"Whether revenue growth stays above 30%. Whether adjusted earnings ever grow faster than revenue — the consensus says they will not in FY2026 and the whole valuation rests on them eventually doing so. Whether stock-based compensation moderates from 21.9% of revenue; it is 75% of reported free cash flow, and every point of reduction is a direct transfer to shareholders. Whether the company begins repurchasing stock: it has NEVER repurchased a share in the payload's four-year cash-flow history, holds $2,939.6 million of net cash, and dilutes roughly 1-2% a year. Whether the Nevada redomiciliation approved on 2026-04-21 produces any change in shareholder rights that shows up in practice. And whether the acquisitions continue — $118.0 million in FY2025 against $7.1 million in FY2024 — and whether any is ever sized against the revenue it brings."
Confidence
Medium

Long term 2+ years

Tailwind
Driver
"Long-run the argument for Datadog is the best-articulated exponential case in this batch and it comes from outside the company. Observability is the layer that watches everything else running in production, it is priced by consumption — hosts, containers, logs, spans — and it therefore scales with the number of things running rather than with the number of people employed. The knowledge base makes the point precisely: 'The agentic world grows underlying infra — databases, storage, e-discovery, identity, observability remain the rails whether work is done by humans or agents', and 'The more enterprise the application, the thicker the defensible software layer — observability, monitoring, insight extraction, testing/simulation QA — beyond just the model.' If autonomous software multiplies production workloads, a consumption-priced monitoring platform is a direct beneficiary in a way a seat-priced application is not — which is exactly the separation one independent voice observed in May 2026. Layered on that is the platform argument: Datadog 'was first to unify the three pillars of observability into one data model and UI', and 45.2% of revenue goes to research and development to keep adding products into an installed base at near-zero acquisition cost. The counterweights are the usual ones for consumption software: the same mechanic works in reverse when customers optimise, the largest buyers are sophisticated enough to build, and open-source alternatives exist at every layer. None of that is priced at 101 times FY2027 adjusted earnings."
What we’re watching
"Whether consumption pricing proves to be an accelerant or a source of volatility when customers optimise spend. Whether net revenue retention — which the knowledge base's 2023 analysis put above 130% and which the archive does not currently disclose — holds above 115%. Whether artificial-intelligence workloads become a disclosed revenue line rather than an inference; Datadog has never quantified it in this archive. Whether the founder-led structure persists: Olivier Pomel has run the company since founding and was re-elected at the 2026 annual meeting with 9.9 million votes withheld. Whether the dual-class structure, in which Class B shares carry ten votes each, is ever sunset — it is the mechanism by which the Nevada redomiciliation passed with 37.5% of votes against and by which a simple-majority-voting proposal was defeated. And whether stock-based compensation ever falls below 15% of revenue."
Confidence
Low

Exponential Potential

Exponential Potential7/10High

"Rated 7 — one of the two highest exponential scores in this batch, on a genuinely non-linear product argument corroborated from outside the company. The structural case is that observability is the control plane for software, and the knowledge base states it three ways without prompting: 'Datadog was first to unify the three pillars of observability (infrastructure, APM, logs) into one data model and UI, and keeps out-developing point players'; 'The more enterprise the application, the thicker the defensible software layer — observability, monitoring, insight extraction, testing/simulation QA — beyond just the model'; and 'The agentic world grows underlying infra — databases, storage, e-discovery, identity, observability remain the rails whether work is done by humans or agents.' That last claim is the exponential argument in one sentence: if autonomous software agents multiply the number of things running in production by an order of magnitude, the thing that watches them scales with the count, and Datadog charges per host, per container and per log. The land-and-expand model compounds it — every product added to an existing customer arrives at near-zero acquisition cost, which is why 45.2% of revenue goes to research and development. Why 7 and not higher: consumption pricing cuts both ways, the largest customers are hyperscaler-adjacent and can build in-house, the March-quarter acceleration is one data point, and the company's own adjusted margins are compressing while it spends to defend the position."

What could take this further than the base case — and where the market may be underpricing it. Full forward-growth and acceleration math in Deeper analysis, §4 below.

Deeper analysis

Technicals, fundamentals, valuation, and the full expert-claim evidence panel — the detail behind the numbers above.

> ## ⚠ EARNINGS IN TWO DAYS

> Datadog reports second-quarter 2026 results on 2026-08-06 — 48 hours after the date of this dive. Consensus is adjusted EPS $0.583 and revenue $1,078.7 million (+30.5% year on year). The stock closed on 2026-08-04 at $288.15, EXACTLY its 52-week high, up 5.32% on the day and 96.4% over three months. At 119 times FY2026 consensus earnings the reaction function into that print is asymmetric, and the verdict below is set with this timing as an explicit input.


Reference table

Street consensus$265 — 8.0% BELOW spot · median $280, also below · high $320 (+11.1%) · low $139 (−51.8%) · 40 buy / 7 hold / 1 sell, consensus Buy. The price has run past the analysts who like it
Valuation119.0x FY2026E adjusted EPS · 101.1x FY2027E · 82.2x FY2028E · 748.8x trailing GAAP · 27.9x trailing sales · ~22.9x FY2026E and ~18.9x FY2027E EV/sales (on corrected net cash) · 25.5x book
What "adjusted" adds backStock-based compensation $750,671 thousand in FY2025 — 21.9% of revenue and 75% of reported free cash flow. GAAP operating income was a LOSS of $44,373 thousand. Trailing GAAP operating margin −0.67%
March quarter (latest available)Revenue $1,006.4M, +32.1% — an acceleration from FY2025's 27.7% · gross profit $797.2M (79.2%) · GAAP operating income $7.3M · GAAP EPS $0.15 · adjusted EPS $0.60 vs a $0.508 estimate, +18.1%
The margin directionConsensus adjusted EPS +17.5% in FY2026 against revenue +27.0%. Earnings are growing SLOWER than revenue at 119x earnings
Balance sheetCash $401.3M plus short-term investments $4,073.5M = $4,474.8M against total debt of $1,535.2M → NET CASH $2,939.6M. The vendor reports net DEBT of $1,133.9M because it omits the short-term investments — a $3.8B error
GOVERNANCERedomiciled from Delaware to NEVADA, approved 2026-04-21 by 332,195,858 votes to 199,605,477 — 37.5% AGAINST — on a poll where Class B shares carry TEN votes each. A simple-majority-voting proposal was DEFEATED at the June annual meeting (217.2M for, 296.1M against). One director drew 83.4M withheld votes
ConvictionPositive, thin, and gradeable. 4 name-level claims, all bullish. One (2023, "50-60% revenue growth") has been WRONG — actual growth ran at roughly half. One (2026-05-09) has been spectacularly right and its stated horizon has elapsed
Technicals0.00% from the 52-week high — it closed AT it; +180.8% above the low of $102.62; +16.4% above the 50-DMA, +71.0% above the 200-DMA; RSI 65.6; MACD +8.20; 3-month +96.4%, 12-month +112.5% vs SPY +24.3%

What the experts actually said 3 traceable claims on DDOG · showing the highest-conviction voices

“Cyber/analytics names (Datadog, Fortinet) are separating from seat-based software (Adobe); software may outperform and semis underperform for a month or two.”
Jordi Visserbullishconviction 452026-05-09anthony_pompliano-ot6OWSi--tk:f0816cbeab
“Datadog's land-and-expand model (30%+ annual customer adds, 130%+ net retention) plus rapid product cadence drives 50-60% revenue growth while profitable, far faster than Dynatrace, New Relic, Splunk.”
Business Breakdownsbullishconviction 682023-05-13business_breakdowns-VzhrEWSFmDI:b920bc3217

Every claim reconciles to a real claim_id in the Synthos knowledge base — this is the evidence the verdict is built on, not vibes. Management (the company itself) is shown but half-weighted; one cautionary voice is included on purpose.

Price & moving averages 12 months · 50 & 200-day averages · 52-week range

88142195249303Aug '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Aug '2652w hi $28850-DMA 249Price 237200-DMA 17652w lo $103

Solid line = price · dashed line = 50-day average · dotted line = 200-day average · the two thin horizontal lines mark the 52-week high and low. Price above both averages is an uptrend.

Data summary: last close $236.98, 5% below the 50-day average ($249), 35% above the 200-day average ($176) — a mixed trend. 18% below the 52-week high of $288, 131% above the 52-week low of $103.

Bollinger Bands 20-day average ± 2 standard deviations

76133190247304Aug '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Aug '2620-day avg 246Price 237

The shaded band widens when the stock gets more volatile. Riding the upper edge = strong momentum (sometimes stretched); the lower edge = weak / potentially oversold.

Data summary: price $236.98 is currently inside the band (band $210–$282).

RSI (14) momentum gauge · 0–100

705030Aug '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Aug '26RSI 46.9

Above 70 (overbought zone, shaded) = overbought, below 30 (oversold zone, shaded) = oversold. Currently 47.

MACD 12 / 26 / 9 · trend & momentum

0Aug '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Aug '26signal -4.3MACD -5.5

The MACD line crossing above the signal line (bars flip to the up color) = momentum turning up; crossing below (bars flip to the down color) = turning down. Bar height = the size of that gap.

Data summary: MACD is currently below its signal line by 1.20, negative momentum.

Relative performance vs S&P 500 & its sector (XLK (sector)), set to 100 a year ago

62100139177215Aug '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Aug '26DDOG 168XLK (sector) 139S&P 500 119

Solid = DDOG · dashed = S&P 500 · dotted = XLK (sector). A rising line means it is beating that benchmark — the sector line shows whether it is a leader or laggard within its own group.

Forward revenue & earnings actual → estimate · "FY" = fiscal year, "E" = estimate

035810$2BFY23EPS $2$3BFY24EPS $2$3BFY25EPS $2$4BFY26EEPS $3$5BFY27EEPS $3$7BFY28EEPS $4$9BFY29EEPS $4$9BFY30EEPS $5

Darker bars = actual results, brighter = analyst estimates. Taller bars to the right = expected growth.

Key stats an RIA wants

Price$236.98
Market cap$84B
P/E trailing473×
P/E FY26E / FY27E94× / 80×
EV / Sales20.5×*
EV / EBITDA309.3×*
Gross margin79.5%
Net margin4.5%
Dividend yield0.00%
Beta1.509
52-wk range$103 – $288
RSI(14)38
50 / 200-DMA$249 / $176
12-mo return+80% (SPY +19%)
Street target$274 ($158–$320)
Analyst grades40 Buy · 7 Hold · 1 Sell
FMP ratingC+
Next earnings'2026-08-06 — SECOND-QUARTER 2026 RESULTS, TWO DAYS AFTER THIS DIVE (vendor consensus adjusted EPS $0.583 and revenue $1,078.7M, implying 30.5% year-on-year revenue growth against the March quarter''s 32.1%). The stock closed at its 52-week high on the day before this dive was struck. This is the shortest interval to a scheduled catalyst in this batch and it is a direct input to the verdict.'

* Enterprise value recomputed in-house: the data vendor nets cash but omits short-term investments, overstating EV for cash-rich balance sheets. EV multiples marked * use market cap + total debt − cash − short-term investments.

1. The business, and how good it actually is

Datadog is a Nevada corporation (redomiciled from Delaware in April 2026 — Section 4) headquartered in New York, NASDAQ-listed, with approximately 8,100 employees, led by co-founder and Chief Executive Olivier Pomel.

FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Revenue$1,028.8M$1,675.1M$2,128.4M$2,684.3M$3,427.2M
Growth+62.8%+27.0%+26.1%+27.7%
Gross profit$794.5M$1,328.4M$1,718.5M$2,168.7M$2,740.2M
Gross margin77.2%79.3%80.7%80.8%79.9%
Research and development$419.8M$752.4M$962.4M$1,152.7M$1,548.5M
R&D % of revenue40.8%44.9%45.2%42.9%45.2%
Selling, general and administrative$393.9M$634.7M$789.5M$961.8M$1,236.1M
GAAP operating income−$19.2M−$58.7M−$33.5M$54.3M−$44.4M
GAAP net income−$20.7M−$50.2M$48.6M$183.7M$107.7M
GAAP EPS−$0.07−$0.16$0.15$0.55$0.31
Stock-based compensation$363.2M$482.3M$570.3M$750.7M
SBC % of revenue21.7%22.7%21.2%21.9%
Operating cash flow$418.4M$660.0M$870.6M$1,050.1M
Capital expenditure($64.9M)($27.6M)($34.7M)($49.6M)
Free cash flow$353.5M$632.4M$835.9M$1,000.6M
FCF margin21.1%29.7%31.1%29.2%

And the March 2026 quarter, which is the most recent data anywhere in this archive:

Q1 2026Q1 2025change
Revenue$1,006.4M$761.6M+32.1%
Gross profit$797.2M$603.9M+32.0%
Gross margin79.2%79.3%−10 bps
GAAP operating income$7.3M−$12.4M
GAAP net income$52.6M$24.6M+113.6%
GAAP EPS$0.15$0.07
Adjusted EPS$0.60$0.46+30.4%

Three observations.

The acceleration is real and it is the most important fact here. Revenue growth went 27.0% → 26.1% → 27.7% across three years and then 32.1% in the March quarter. A 27%-grower re-accelerating to 32% at $4 billion of scale is rare, and it is the change that justifies a large part of the 112.5% twelve-month return. What the archive does NOT contain is any explanation: no net-retention figure, no customer count, no product-attach disclosure, and no artificial-intelligence revenue line. This dive does not assert a cause.

The cash generation is genuine but heavily assisted. Free cash flow of $1,000.6M on $3,427.2M of revenue is a 29.2% margin, achieved with capital expenditure of only 1.4% of revenue. But $750.7M of stock-based compensation is added back to reach it — 75% of the free-cash-flow figure. Cash flow after treating share compensation as the real cost it is falls to roughly $250M, a 7.3% margin. Both numbers are true and the second is the one an owner experiences.

GAAP operating income was NEGATIVE in FY2025 — a loss of $44,373 thousand, worse than FY2023's loss and a reversal of FY2024's $54,284 thousand profit — because research and development rose from 42.9% to 45.2% of revenue. That is a company spending to defend and extend a position, and it is a defensible choice; it is also the reason the trailing GAAP price-to-earnings ratio is 748.8x.

2. Valuation — priced in or room?

At $288.15 (market cap $102.57B; corrected enterprise value ~$99.63B after $2,939.6M of net cash — see Section 5):

TrailingFY2026EFY2027EFY2028E
Revenue$3,672M (TTM)$4,352.3M (33)$5,280.8M (34)$6,543.6M (19)
Revenue growth+27.0%+21.3%+23.9%
Adjusted EPS$2.20 (sum of earn_cal actuals)$2.421 (24)$2.851 (25)$3.504 (6)
Adjusted EPS growth+17.5%+17.8%+22.9%
P/E on adjusted131.0x119.0x101.1x82.2x
P/E on trailing GAAP748.8x
EV / revenue (corrected)27.1x22.9x18.9x15.2x
Price / sales27.9x
Price / book25.5x
Free cash flow yield0.98%

Note the row that decides this dive: adjusted EPS grows 17.5% in FY2026 against revenue growth of 27.0%, and 17.8% in FY2027 against 21.3%. Adjusted margins are compressing, not expanding. At 119 times current-year earnings, the price requires the opposite.

The two valuation lenses disagree, and the disagreement IS stock-based compensation. At 18.9 times FY2027 consensus revenue on a corrected enterprise value, Datadog is expensive but within the band best-in-class software has commanded for a 21-27% grower with an 80% gross margin. At 101.1 times FY2027 adjusted EPS — where "adjusted" adds back 21.9% of revenue — it is not. The gap between those two statements is $750.7 million a year of real economic cost paid in shares, and a reader who values Datadog on sales is implicitly assuming it disappears.

Estimate coverage is deep on the near years and collapses hard. 33 and 34 analysts on FY2026 and FY2027 revenue, 24 and 25 on EPS — the deepest coverage in this batch — then 19 on FY2028 revenue but only 6 on FY2028 EPS, and 4 and 2 on FY2029 and FY2030 EPS. The FY2027 EPS range is $2.684 to $3.522, a 29.4% spread. FY2028's range is $2.267 to $4.927 — a 118% spread on six analysts — and FY2029 and FY2030 are excluded outright for the reason in Section 5: the estimate block shows revenue DECLINING between them.

est.ebitdaAvg and est.ebitAvg are REJECTED on two grounds — fixed ratios and arithmetic impossibility. ebitdaAvg is exactly 13.02% of revenueAvg and ebitAvg exactly 11.93% in every forward year FY2026 through FY2030. And netIncomeAvg EXCEEDS ebitAvg in every single forward year — FY2026 $900.4M against $519.1M, FY2027 $1,107.5M against $629.9M, FY2030 $1,704.7M against $988.5M. Net income cannot exceed earnings before interest and tax by 70%. All forward valuation uses epsAvg.

Peer context is unusable and the set is genuinely strange. peers returns ADSK, CRWV, FICO, MSTR, NXPI, STX, TEAM, WDAY, WDC and ZS — a design-software company, a GPU cloud, an analytics scorer, a bitcoin treasury vehicle, a semiconductor maker, two hard-disk-drive manufacturers, a collaboration-software company, a human-resources platform and a security vendor. Not one is an observability company: Dynatrace, Elastic, Splunk and Grafana are all absent. No peer-multiple comparison is drawn.

2a. What today's price assumes (the inversion)

At $288.15 — 119.0x FY2026 consensus adjusted EPS, 101.1x FY2027, 18.9x FY2027 revenue — the price embeds:

2b. The return bridge (why the multiple moves)

Expected return over the next twelve months decomposes as: adjusted EPS growth (+17.8%, from FY2026E $2.421 to FY2027E $2.851) + multiple drift (COMPRESSION of roughly 26%, from today's 119.0x on the current year toward about 88x) + shareholder yield (0.0% — no dividend, and NO share repurchase in any year of the payload's cash-flow history)−13%.

Our base assumes substantial multiple compression, and the reason is that we cannot construct a defensible path in which it does not happen. Adjusted earnings growing 17-18% do not support 101-119x indefinitely; the consensus itself has FY2027 revenue growth decelerating to 21.3%; and the price has already run 8.0% past the consensus target and 2.8% past the median. A multiple that has to hold at 100x while earnings grow 18% is not a valuation, it is a bet on sentiment.

There is also no shareholder yield to cushion it. Datadog has never repurchased a share in the four years of cash-flow data in the payload, pays no dividend, and dilutes. Every dollar of return must come from earnings and the multiple, and the multiple is the larger term.

2c. Variant perception (where we differ, what would surprise)

Synthos fair values

All three anchors are multiples of the FY2027 consensus adjusted EPS distribution (mean $2.851, low $2.684, high $3.522, 25 analysts), cross-checked against FY2027 consensus revenue of $5,280.8M on a corrected enterprise value.

Base is 13.2% BELOW spot; asymmetry roughly 0.52:1 (47.9% down, 24.9% up), with zero shareholder yield. A fair value below the market price, a payoff ratio of roughly one-to-two against, a street target 8% below the price, a close at the 52-week high, and an earnings report in two days is an Avoid — and the section below names precisely what would reverse it and at what level.

3. Knowledge base — four bullish claims, two of them gradeable and pointing opposite ways

Raw hits: 9. Case-sensitive entity hits naming DDOG or Datadog: 4. Name-level claims: 4, ALL BULLISH. Discarded: 5.

Two from one 2023 episode — business_breakdowns, 2023-05-13, speaker Peter Offringa, speaker_role: independent, entity DDOG:

> bullish · conviction 68 · thesis

> "Datadog's land-and-expand model (30%+ annual customer adds, 130%+ net retention) plus rapid product cadence drives 50-60% revenue growth while profitable, far faster than Dynatrace, New Relic, Splunk."

> bullish · conviction 65 · thesis

> "Datadog was first to unify the three pillars of observability (infrastructure, APM, logs) into one data model and UI, and keeps out-developing point players and weak cloud-native tools."

GRADING the first, because it carries a number. It asserted 50-60% revenue growth. Actual growth since: 27.0% (FY2023), 26.1% (FY2024), 27.7% (FY2025), 32.1% (Q1 2026). The quantitative claim has been WRONG by roughly a factor of two, for three consecutive years. The structural half — land-and-expand with high net retention and rapid product cadence — is consistent with what the company has delivered and with the March-quarter re-acceleration, and it is the part of the claim that still stands. We report the miss rather than crediting the thesis, because a knowledge base that only surfaces the half that worked is not a knowledge base.

One from 2026 — jordi_visser, 2026-05-09, bullish 45, skill 2.0, speaker_role: independent, entities DDOG and FTNT:

> "Cyber/analytics names (Datadog, Fortinet) are separating from seat-based software (Adobe); software may outperform and semis underperform for a month or two."

GRADED: spectacularly right, and closed. Made 2026-05-09; Datadog has returned 96.4% over the following three months. But note what it actually was: a conviction-45 tactical observation with an explicit one-to-two-month horizon, made three months ago. The horizon has elapsed, the move has happened, and it is a closed trade rather than a live thesis. Its structural observation — that consumption-priced analytics separates from seat-priced software — is the most useful sentence in this lane and is the core of the exponential case in the front matter.

One naming Datadog inside a list — no_priors, 2025-07-10, bullish 75, entities Microsoft, Oracle, SAP, Salesforce, Workday, Datadog and Epic:

> "These companies stayed dominant precisely because of insular integrated-platform architecture (internal frameworks, platform teams, interoperable apps) that critics mock."

Corroborates the unified-platform argument from a governance-of-architecture direction rather than a product one.

The five discards are free-text "observability" hits about other companiesno_priors on Salesforce and agent benchmarking; dwarkesh twice on Microsoft and GitHub's Agent HQ and on agentic infrastructure; cognitive_revolution on Cisco's distributed-systems DNA; and no_priors on the enterprise software layer thickening. All are thematically supportive of the category and none names Datadog, so all are discarded from the conviction pool. Two are quoted in the front matter because they articulate the long-run case better than anything the company says: "The agentic world grows underlying infra — databases, storage, e-discovery, identity, observability remain the rails whether work is done by humans or agents" and "The more enterprise the application, the thicker the defensible software layer — observability, monitoring, insight extraction, testing/simulation QA — beyond just the model."

Attribution. Channel distribution: no_priors 3, dwarkesh 2, business_breakdowns 2, cognitive_revolution 1, jordi_visser 1. No channel reaches a third, so no concentration sensitivity test is triggered — though it is recorded that two of the four name-level claims come from one 2023 episode by one speaker, so the effective independent-source count is three. speaker_role: independent fired correctly on both named speakers. No claim carries a management speaker_role for this registrant.

Conclusion. Breadth 3, claim count 4, net conviction positive-low. The knowledge base likes the business, has been wrong about its growth rate by a factor of two, and was right about its stock for a two-month window that has closed. Nothing in it addresses the multiple.

4. Governance — Delaware to Nevada, and a ten-to-one vote

Two 8-Ks in this archive contain the entire governance story and neither is in the payload.

From the 8-K filed 2026-04-22 (Items 3.03, 5.03 and 5.07):

> "At the Effective Time, each outstanding share of Class A common stock, par value $0.00001 per share, of the Delaware Corporation... became one outstanding share of Class A common stock... of the Nevada Corporation, and each outstanding share of Class B common stock... became one outstanding share of Class B common stock... of the Nevada Corporation."

> "As described in the Proxy Statement, certain rights of the Company's stockholders were changed as a result of the Redomiciliation."

> "The Company's Class A stockholders and Class B stockholders, voting together as a single class, approved the proposal to redomicile the Company from the State of Delaware to the State of Nevada by conversion. The votes... were as follows: For 332,195,858 | Against 199,605,477 | Abstain 351,779."

And the crucial procedural detail, in the company's own words: "the Company's Class A stockholders were entitled to one vote per share and the Company's Class B stockholders were entitled to ten votes per share."

Three things follow.

The proposal passed with 37.5% of votes cast against it — 199.6 million against 332.2 million. That is an unusually large minority for a management proposal.

Those percentages are on a ten-to-one voting basis. Because Class B shares carry ten votes each and are held by insiders, the economic ownership opposing the move was proportionally far larger than 37.5%. The archive does not disclose the Class A/Class B split, so the economic percentage cannot be computed here and is not asserted.

The company itself states that "certain rights of the Company's stockholders were changed." It does not enumerate them in this filing, referring instead to the proxy statement, which is not in this archive. We record the fact and decline to characterise the change, because we have not read the document that describes it.

From the 8-K filed 2026-06-16 (Item 5.07), the 2026 annual meeting held 2026-06-15:

ProposalForAgainst/WithheldResult
Election of Olivier Pomel (founder/CEO)503,784,9719,946,547 withheldElected
Election of Dev Ittycheria455,983,50357,748,015 withheld (11.2%)Elected
Election of Shardul Shah430,291,89783,439,621 withheld (16.2%)Elected
Election of Ami Vora512,745,718985,800 withheldElected
Advisory vote on executive compensation492,631,04920,881,163 againstApproved
Ratification of Deloitte & Touche LLP539,501,7231,223,828 againstApproved
Shareholder proposal: simple-majority voting217,163,770296,078,084 againstDEFEATED

The pattern is coherent: a dual-class structure with ten-to-one voting, a redomiciliation to a state widely regarded as more management-friendly carried over substantial opposition, a defeated shareholder proposal to move to simple-majority voting, and 16.2% withheld votes against one director. None of this affects the software. All of it affects what a minority shareholder can do if something goes wrong, and it is unpriced at 101 times FY2027 earnings.

5. Data integrity — what we rejected and why

Six findings.

1. netDebt OMITS $4,073.5M of short-term investments — the company is NET CASH and the vendor says net debt. bal_a at 2025-12-31 reports cashAndCashEquivalents of $401,305 thousand and shortTermInvestments of $4,073,531 thousand, against totalDebt of $1,535,192 thousand — so the true position is $2,939.6M of NET CASH. The vendor reports netDebt of $1,133,887 thousand — net DEBT — by netting only the cash line. The error is $4.07 billion and it inverts the sign. It flows into enterpriseValueTTM of $103,428.6M, which should be approximately $99,630M — a 3.8% overstatement — and into evToSalesTTM of 28.17x (correct: ~27.1x) and evToEBITDATTM of 452.5x. This is the known short-term-investments omission defect, and here it is the largest instance in this batch.

2. The payload is a FULL QUARTER STALE and earnings arrive in two days. The most recent inc_q row is 2026-03-31; the most recent 10-Q in the archive is the one filed 2026-05-07 covering the same quarter; and second-quarter results are released 2026-08-06. Every operating figure in this dive is at least four months old, and this is stated at every use. The archive does contain a 10-Q filed 2025-11-07 covering the September 2025 quarter and a 10-K filed 2026-02-18, so the coverage is complete up to Q1 2026 and simply stops there.

3. est shows revenue DECLINING between FY2029 and FY2030 — incoherent forward rows, EXCLUDED. revenueAvg reads $8,304,128,274 for FY2029 and $8,287,299,999 for FY2030 — a decline — and ebitdaAvg likewise falls from $1,081.4M to $1,079.2M while epsAvg RISES from $3.98 to $4.69. A company cannot grow earnings per share 17.8% on falling revenue and falling EBITDA absent a buyback it has never performed. Both rows rest on 4 and 2 EPS analysts and are excluded entirely.

4. est.netIncomeAvg EXCEEDS est.ebitAvg in every forward year, and both EBITDA and EBIT carry the fixed-ratio fabrication signature — REJECTED. ebitdaAvg is exactly 13.02% of revenueAvg and ebitAvg exactly 11.93% in every year FY2026 through FY2030. netIncomeAvg is $900.4M against ebitAvg of $519.1M in FY2026 and $1,704.7M against $988.5M in FY2030. Net income cannot exceed EBIT by 70%. All forward valuation uses epsAvg.

5. seg_prod is EMPTY and seg_geo double-counts. seg_prod returns [] — no product, module or revenue-line breakdown of any kind for a company whose entire investment case is multi-product land-and-expand. seg_geo for FY2025 reports North America $2,433.1M and International $994.1M, which sum EXACTLY to the reported $3,427.2M of revenue — and then separately reports UNITED STATES $2,320.3M, which is a SUBSET of North America. Summing all three double-counts by 67.7%. On the correct basis the United States is 67.7% of revenue and North America 71.0%.

6. The trailing GAAP price-to-earnings ratio of 748.8x is arithmetically correct and analytically useless, and the reason should be stated rather than the number quoted. netIncomePerShareTTM of $0.384 against a price of $288.15 produces it. Datadog's GAAP earnings are suppressed by $750.7M of stock-based compensation and are therefore neither a good measure of economics nor a stable denominator: FY2024 GAAP EPS was $0.55, FY2025 was $0.31, and the direction has nothing to do with the business. This dive quotes both the GAAP and adjusted multiples at every point and treats neither as sufficient alone.

Where vendor and filing AGREED — recorded:

Vendor composite rating — accepted in direction. C+ / 2 overall, with 1/5 on both price-to-earnings and price-to-book, 2/5 on debt-to-equity and 3/5 on the returns and discounted cash flow. The two 1s are the correct reading and are the same two things this dive is most cautious about; the 2/5 debt-to-equity is wrong for the reason in finding 1, since the company is net cash.

Non-equity tripwire — checked and passed, with a note. DDOG is Class A common stock, par value $0.00001 per share, of a NEVADA corporation (redomiciled from Delaware in April 2026), NASDAQ Global Select Market. Note the separate Class B common stock carrying TEN votes per share, which is NOT this security and which is not disclosed anywhere in the payload. Price of $288.15 is not par-like; beta is 1.543; there is no dividend; volume was 4.44M shares (~$1.28B of turnover); the 52-week band of $102.62 to $288.15 is a 181% range. This is common equity, of a dual-class company.

6. Technicals and insiders

Today's move. DDOG closed 2026-08-04 at $288.15, up 5.32% or $14.55 from $273.60. It opened at $269.06 — which was also the day's low — and traded up all day to close at $288.15, within 0.6% of the day high of $289.90, on 4.44 million shares. A 7.1% intraday advance from the open to the close, finishing at a 52-week high, two days before earnings. No company filing is dated 2026-08-04.

Insiders — one director, one day, $5.3 million sold

DatePersonRoleTypeSharesPrice
2026-07-30Amit AgarwalDirectorC-Conversion20,000$0
2026-07-30Amit AgarwalDirectorC-Conversion20,000$0
2026-07-30Amit AgarwalDirectorS-SALE600$264.35
2026-07-30Amit AgarwalDirectorS-SALE2,047$265.27
2026-07-30Amit AgarwalDirectorS-SALE6,969$266.32
2026-07-30Amit AgarwalDirectorS-SALE7,084$267.16
2026-07-30Amit AgarwalDirectorS-SALE1,700$268.12
2026-07-30Amit AgarwalDirectorS-SALE1,600$269.00

Every transaction in the file belongs to one director on one day. 40,000 shares were converted — Class B to Class A, the standard mechanic — and 19,900 were then sold across six tranches between $264.35 and $269.00, a single order working through the book, for approximately $5.29 million.

Two readings and we give both. The generous one: a director converting and selling roughly half of a converted block is routine diversification, it was executed five days after the March-quarter reporting window and well inside a normal 10b5-1 arrangement, and 20,100 shares were retained. The unforgiving one: the sale was executed at an average of roughly $266.60, which is 7.5% BELOW today's close, five days before an earnings report, by the only insider who transacted at all.

What the file does not contain: any transaction by chief executive Olivier Pomel or by the chief financial officer, and not one purchase by anybody.

7. Verdict, kill-criteria and flip conditions

Avoid.

This is a verdict on price and timing and we want that stated first, because the business deserves better than the tier implies. Revenue accelerated to 32.1% in the March quarter — faster than the 27.7% of FY2025 — on a 79.9% gross margin, with $1,000.6 million of free cash flow, capital expenditure of 1.4% of revenue, $2,939.6 million of net cash, and five consecutive earnings beats averaging 12.7%. The knowledge base's structural claims about the category are the best-articulated exponential argument in this batch. If this dive were about the enterprise, it would be a positive one.

It is about the security, and four things about the security are wrong at once.

First, the price closed at exactly its 52-week high after a 96.4% three-month advance. pct_from_hi is 0.00%. There is no drawdown, no pullback and no valuation cushion.

Second, the multiple. 119.0 times FY2026 consensus adjusted EPS, 101.1 times FY2027, 748.8 times trailing GAAP earnings, 25.5 times book — and the adjusted figure adds back $750.7 million of stock-based compensation, 21.9% of revenue, 75% of reported free cash flow, growing faster than the business, against a GAAP operating LOSS of $44.4 million. Consensus adjusted EPS grows 17.5% in FY2026 against revenue growth of 27.0%: the earnings the multiple is struck on are growing more slowly than the top line.

Third, the street's own target is below the price. Forty of forty-eight analysts rate this Buy, and their consensus target of $265 is 8.0% below the market, with the median of $280 also below. We are not taking a contrarian position against the sell side; we are agreeing with it and noting that the price has left it behind.

Fourth, the timing. Second-quarter results are released 2026-08-06, two days after this dive, into a 52-week-high close at 119 times current-year earnings. The reaction function there is asymmetric in a way no analysis improves.

Pre-registered REVERSAL conditions — what would take this to Watch or better. We expect to revisit this name and these are the terms:

Pre-registered CONFIRMATION criteria — what would make this a durable Avoid rather than a timing call:

Where DDOG fits in the Synthos Framework Portfolio. No position, and none contemplated above $200. It stays on the watch list at $200 (70x FY2027 consensus) for a 1.5% initial sleeve in the software/AI-infrastructure bucket. Sizing note: this is a 1.543-beta security with a 181% twelve-month price range that has doubled in a quarter. The discipline is not to short it — the business is accelerating and the category argument is strong — but to refuse to buy it at the high, two days before a print, at a multiple its own analysts will not endorse. Logged as a tracked Synthos call (Avoid) as of 2026-08-04 at $288.15, with the fair-value anchors, the reversal conditions and the $200 trigger all gradeable. We expect this call to be graded harshly if the August print is strong, and we make it anyway: a 13% negative expected return with 0.52-to-1 asymmetry is not something to own regardless of what happens on Thursday.

Single biggest risk to this verdict — stated because Avoid is the tier most likely to be wrong. Datadog is accelerating at scale, the observability category may genuinely be the control plane for a world of autonomous software, and momentum in names like this has historically run far beyond what multiples justify. If the August print shows 35% growth and expanding margins, this stock can trade at $360 without anything in the analysis above being false — the bull case in Section 2 is exactly that, and it is 24.9% above the current price. What we are saying is narrower and we hold it firmly: at a 52-week-high close, at 119 times current-year earnings whose definition excludes a fifth of revenue, with the consensus target 8% below the price and a report in forty-eight hours, the distribution of outcomes is unattractive and the correct action is to wait.


Provenance & disclosures